Orphan Black. SO. GOOD.

5f9a8faec1e955c9a52cbfcd1a268d94-1

So I decided to stray away from my country theme to talk about Orphan Black because IT IS SO GOOD…so good I made a whole separate tab for it on my menu bar. It’s also so good that I finished the whole first season in one day…and not just one day but less than 11 hours. Yup, that happened. To say I had a lazy day yesterday is an understatement. Seriously though, Orphan Black is such an amazing show. If you don’t know what this show is about, it is basically about a girl (Sarah) who watches someone who looks just like her (Beth) commit suicide. Sarah takes Beth’s identity but ends up finding out a lot about herself that she never would have expected to find out. I don’t think I say any spoilers in this post but I usually say something and don’t realize that it’s a spoiler, so beware if you keep reading!

When my cousin, Tyler (who has introduced me to a lot of amazing shows, so props to him) told me about this show I thought “clones? eh no thanks” but then ended up watching it anyway and that was such a good decision. My cousin has had a pretty good track record with introducing me to TV shows and books, so I have learned to trust him no matter what my first reaction is. When he told me to watch Glee, for example, I laughed and said I never would, but now I own all of the seasons on DVD and cried hysterically when I found out Cory Monteith passed away. So needless to say, I now love Glee. He also told me to read The Hunger Games and of course I refused, but then I did. Then I read Catching Fire and Mockingjay, and went on Amazon and bought a bunch of The Hunger Games stuff…all in 4 days. So basically, thanks Ty!

6894eb8d4bfa5ad0768b10d3af41ce73

Anyway, back to the point of this post…Orphan Black! What makes this show so good is Tatiana Maslany. The fact that she plays so many characters yet they all seem like different people blows my mind. How could someone be THAT good at acting?! It just can’t be humanly possible. She’s like a freak of nature or something, but the best freak of nature ever. Her accents all sound so different. Even when she’s one of the characters pretending to be a different character she makes it so believable. For instance, when Sarah is pretending to be Beth she does an American accent, but she still seems like Sarah pretending to be Beth and not actually Beth, which is crazy because she IS Beth. If I seem completely shocked…it’s because I am. She’s just so good.

a5d77c53be9120af70b78c3275986d89

Then there’s the other part of this show that I absolutely love…Felix! Anyone close to me knows that I am the most sarcastic person. Sarcasm is pretty much my first language…so basically I LOVE Felix. He is so sarcastic and so funny! What I love about Felix is that even though this show is not a comedy, he adds comedy to it. Felix just makes this already amazing show even more amazing and I love him. He is hands down my favorite character. Oh and let me just say the part where Felix watches Alison’s kids and dresses them as cross dressers is perfect. Just perfect. That is all.


Well now I just have to wait for the second season to come out. Until then, I might just have to watch the first season all over again. Everyone else should watch it too! Enjoy!

One thought on “Orphan Black. SO. GOOD.

  1. Pingback: Orphan Black (Season 1: TV Series Review) | Green Embers Recommends

Leave a Reply

